ATHENA SOCIETY EST. 1994

Brainstorming the future of clinical chemistry and its future role in health care

 

Seventh Meeting of The Athena Society

Porto Elounda Crete, Greece
June 16 - 20, 2015

20th Anniversary Celebration

Program and Agenda

2015 Crete

Seventh Meeting of The Athena Society for Laboratory Medicine

2015 Organizers:

Basil Doumas, Ph.D., Medical College of Wisconsin

Eleftherios P. Diamandis, M.D., Ph.D., Mt. Sinai Hospital, University of Toronto

Ann M. Gronowski, Ph.D., Washington University

Jack Ladenson, Ph.D., Washington University

Mitchel Scott, Ph.D., Washington University

Evangelos Spanos, M.D., M.Sc, Ph.D., Boimedicine Ltd., Athens

Gregory J. Tsongalis, Ph.D., Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center

 

2015 Athena Program

Tuesday, June 16

19:00-20:30

Reception

Wednesday, June 17

8:45 Welcome & Purpose - A. Gronowski & G. Tsongalis
9:00

Disruptive innovation / technology in lab medicine

- Moderator - E Diamandis
9:15 If you dont think Theranos is real, look who is close behind - D. Grenache
9:30 Are these companies a real threat and should we be afraid? - Group Discussion
10:15 The emergence of digital medicine, where consumers are connected and in control - S. Haymond
10:30 Beyond nanotechnology: Have we seen this before? - P. Wilding
10:45 Discussion
11:00 Break
11:15

The Future of Laboratory Medicine

- Moderator - F. Apple
11:15 What is the future of accademic laboratory medicine?
11:45 Is there a future for the central lab? If so, what and why? - G. miller
12:00 Will companies become the next academia? - S. Evans
12:15 Discussion
12:45

Reflection

12:45 History of the Athena Society: a reflection on 20 years of meetings - B. Doumas
19:00 Feature Film "Eternal Life"
Produced by Eleftherios Diamandis(rated G by the program organizers)
20:00 Dinner at Odysseas Restaurant, Porto Elounda Resort

Thursday, June 18

8:30

Genomic medicine in Clinical Practice

- Moderator - C. Wittwer
8:30 Genetic testing for the masses- yes - G. Tsongalis
8:45 Genetic testing for the masses- no - G. Tsongalis
9:00 The rise, fall, and rise? of 23andme - G. Bordor
9:15 An update on epigenetics - S. Asa
9:30 Discussion
10:00 Break
10:15

Big Data

Moderator - E. Diamandis
10:15 Big data- the role of computational biology - P. Bossuyt
10:30 Learning from our mistakes: The future of validating complex diagnostics - S. Master
10:45 Do we do too many lab tests? - R. Horvath
11:00 How can health information systems and EMR's facilitate patient care? - S. Boyages
11:15 Discussion
11:45 Break
12:00

Global Perspectives

Moderator - J. Ladenson
12:00 Disparities in laboratory medicine - A. Saenger
12:15 Technology in underserved areas: can we benefit from them in the developed world? - T. Amukule
12:30 Discussion
13:00

Group Photo

20:00

Dinner with music and dancing - Hosted my Dr. and Mrs. Spanos

Porto Elounda grassy area by the sea

Friday, June 19

8:30

New Markers

Moderator - A. Jaffe
8:30 circulating tumor cell - E. Lianidou
8:45 Alzheimers/Stroke - J. Ladenson
9:00 Kidney - O. Laterza
9:15 Discussion
9:45 Break
10:00

Ethical Issue in Laboratory Medicine

Moderator - M. Plebani
10:00 We can do it, but should we? - A. Gronowski
10:15 Epedemics and Duty of Care - D. Bruns
10:30 Ethical Issues in Publications - N. Rafai
10:45 Discussion
11:15 Break
11:30

Microbes in The Clinical Lab

Moderator - S. Asa
11:30 How to prepare the lab for highly infectious pathogens- or what did Ebola teach us? - D. Sacks
11:45 Rapid infectous disease testing: How far, how fast and how cheap can we go? - C. Wittwer
12:00 The future of infectious disease testing - C.A. Burnham
12:15 How will the Microbiome change laboratory testing? M. Cervinski
12:30 Discussion

13:30

Board busses for Guided Tour of Palace of Knossos, Shoping Old Town Heraklion. Dinner on own.

Saturday, June 20

8:45

Summary and take home lessons Panel Discussion

Moderator - S. Ezzat
T. Moyer
R. Rej
A. Stankovic
9:30 Wrap-up - A. Gronowski & G. Tsongalis
11:00

Bus departs for the airport

Attendees

2015 Athena Society Delegates



 

Name

Guest

Country

E-mail

Organization

Alvarez, Francisco (Paco)

Rosario

Spain

falvarezmen@gmail.com

Hospital Universitario Central de Asturias

Amukule, Tim

Steven

USA

tamukel1@jhmi.edu

The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Apple, Fred

Jan

USA

apple004@umn.edu

U. of Minnesota

Asa, Sylvia L

Canada

Dr.Sylvia.Asa@uhn.on.ca

Ontario Cancer Institute

Bairaktari, Eleni T.

Greece

ebairakt@cc.uoi.gr

University of Ioannina

Bodor, Geza

Maggie

USA

geza.bodor@va.gov

University of Colorado/VA Med Ctr

Bossuyt, Patrick

Monique

Netherlands

p.m.bossuyt@amc.uva.nl

University of Amsterdam

Boyages, Steven

Stella

Australia

steve.boyages@gmail.com

U. of Sydney

Bruns, David

Liz

USA

dbruns@virginia.edu

U. of Virginia

Burnham, Carey-Ann

Ryley

USA

cburnham@path.wustl.edu

Washington U. School of Med

Cervinski, Mark

Janelle

USA

Mark.A.Cervinski@Hitchcock.ORG

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Med Center

Diamandis, Eleftherios

Anastasia

Canada

ediamandis@mtsinai.on.ca

Mt. Sinai Hospital/U. of Toronto

Doumas, Basil

USA

bdoumas@wi.rr.com

Med College of Wisconsin

Evans, Sue

USA

sueevans@att.net

Beckman Coulter

Ezzat, Shereen

Canada

sezzat@mtsinai.on.ca

University of Toronto

Grenache, David

Dennis

USA

david.grenache@path.utah.edu

University of Utah

Gronowski, Ann

Scott

USA

gronowski@pathology.wustl.edu

Washington U. School of Med

Haymond, Shannon

USA

SHaymond@luriechildrens.org

Lurie Children's Hospital, Chicago, IL

Horvath, Rita

Australia

Andrea.horvath@SESIAHS.HEALTH

.NSW.GOV.AU

Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney

Jaffe, Al

Teresa

USA

Jaffe.Allan@mayo.edu

Mayo Clinic

Keskine─če, Aytaç

Turkey

aytac@elab.com.tr

Ankara U.

Kricka, Larry

Barbara

USA

kricka@mail.med.upenn.edu

U. of Pennsylvania

Ladenson, Jack

Ruth

USA

ladenson@pathology.wustl.edu

Washington U. School of Med

Laterza, Omar

USA

omar_laterza@merck.com

Merck

Lianidou, Evi

Greece

lianidou@chem.uoa.gr

U. of Athens

Master, Stephen

Tina

USA

srm9012@med.cornell.edu

Weill Cornell Medical College

McDonald, Jay

Sarah

USA

mcdonald@uab.edu

University of Alabama Birmingham

Miller, Greg

Gail

USA

gmiller@vcu.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University

Moyer, Thomas

Diane

USA

dtpm01@gmail.com

Retired

Papadaki, Eirini

Greece

epapadaki@bioiatriki.gr

Biomedicine SA.

Plebani, Mario

Maria

Italy

mario.plebani@sanita.padova.it

U. Hospital of Padova

 

Rej, Bob

Yvonne

USA

bob@wadsworth.org

Wadsworth Center for Labs

& Rsch

Rifai, Nader

USA

rifai@tch.harvard.edu

Harvard U.

Sacks, David

Beth

USA

david.sacks2@nih.gov

NIH

Saenger, Amy

USA

amy.saenger.as1@roche.com

Mayo Clinic

Scott, Mitch

Barb

USA

mscott@pathology.wustl.edu

Washington U. School of Med

Spanos, Evangelis

Mahi

Greece

MARKETING@BIOIATRIKI.GR

Biomedicine SA.

Spanos, George

Greece

gspanos@bioiatriki.gr

Biomedicine SA.

Stankovic, Ana

Serge

USA

ana_stankovic@bd.com

BD Diagnostics

Tsongalis, Greg

Nancy

USA

Gregory.J.Tsongalis@Hitchcock.or  g

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Med Center

Wilding, Peter

Audrey

USA

pwilding@mail.med.upenn.edu

U. of Pennsylvania

Wittwer, Carl

Noriko

USA

carl.wittwer@path.utah.edu

U. of Utah

Young, Ian

Ireland

I.Young@qub.ac.uk

Queens University, Belfast